6:29 AM

There’s something self-destructively beautiful in staying up all night until dawn. Sometimes it’s with someone, and other times – you’re alone. The first happened earlier this week, whilst the second scenario refers to this night. I blame the end of the semester; as soon as I get a break from university, something clicks in my brain and I decide to completely mess up my sleeping pattern for a couple of weeks (until I realize that my melatonin levels will be fucked up beyond repair if I don’t start going to bed and waking up at a reasonable time).

Although it’s not the most beneficial or sensible choice, pulling an all-nighter is somewhat healthy for the brain. Whilst we remain more or less stable during the day, our mood tends to change several times during the later hours. Memories come flooding in; the good ones, the bad ones, and even the ones our conscious pushes to the very back of our minds. All-nighters help you to think, to plan, to make choices in complete silence. They also help you come to certain realizations – ones that may prove to be helpful when you finally wake up past noon.

And now, going to bed at nearly 7 am, I have once again lived through the strangeness that is a sleepless night. Good morning.

About evecatherine15

I wanted to write a clever, interesting little description, but I'm already writing clever, interesting and not-so-little posts. Follow me for my modesty!
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment